Curls and Q

Getting Tangled Up and More

2 Comments

Let me preface this by saying that I’ve never been much of a doodler or drawer, never having an innate talent or classes. However, I’ve been hooked on Zentangles for a couple of years now. For me, it is an off and on again activity. This last spring I joined Ornation Creation FB site. This is such a fun site created by Ben Kwok who is a fabulous, zentangle template-maker. There are a lot of free zentangle templates at this site. People share their drawings and I am totally blown away by how fabulous they are. Little kids have even done these. Quilters and dyers need to look at the fabulous fabric design, there are examples of purses, shoes, furniture, et all decorated with Zentangle. Wonderful, wonderful.

After seeing the Zentangles of  Lisa blogger of Peacefully Knitting and reading about Diva’s Weekly Challenge, I decided to share one of my early tangles from Ornation Creation, which I downloaded and slightly changed this one, added color, and really am embarrassed at sharing my so-so tangle:

Based on template by Ben Kwok

Based on template by Ben Kwok

As a twitcher or birder or bird-watcher, I’ve always wanted to learn how to draw birds. This cartoon sums up most of the “How To” books I found on drawing birds:

Posted on Ornation Creation by Sharon Lynn Payne

Posted on Ornation Creation by Sharon Lynn Payne

While on vacation last August, I actually found a fabulous book which have multiple steps, has you look at each individual part of the bird. I cannot rave enough about this book. Here is the book and my first attempt:

 

Cardinal

Cardinal

Recently I read Outliers: The Story of Success by Malcom Gladwell. He hypotheses that there people do not have “innate talent”, instead talent is achieved after 10,000 hours of practice. Hummmmm.. I know that my 9-year-old grandson who is quite clever at drawing has not practiced for 10,000 hours. But, maybe there is a chance for me after 10,000 hours.

Author: Curls & Q

Q is a retired teacher. Both Curls and Q are renaissance women who love to knit, sew, do anything crafty, genealogy, etc.

2 thoughts on “Getting Tangled Up and More

  1. I love your bird!! I joined the FB group … wow, totally inspirational. Thanks for the mention too 😊

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 195 other followers