Cover that Cake with Colorful Berries

~Eureka!  Isn’t it funny how all of a sudden an amazing idea comes to you?  Barb and I subscribe to different magazines so we can swap.  At “The Office” last Monday, we traded magazines.  While I was reading the Spring 2012 issue of “knitter’s magazine” I was quite taken with the three Cake Covers on page 78.  What a clever idea!  We use cut-up nylons around our yarn cakes.  While reading the pattern three things jumped out at me:  1. Size 2 needles, 2. Lace weight yarn, and 3. CO 6 stitches and work up to 120 stitches.  The problem is that I wanted to make one quickly.  I’m mulling the patterns over in the way-back-of-my-mind when I got to the article “Resourceful Ribs: Beyond Edgings and Cuffs” in the May 2012 “Creative Knitting” magazine.  Turning back to the previous page showing a wonderfully textured sweater title Relaxed Ribs, that was it.  Now it all came together, I decided to design my own cake cover pattern using:  1. A rib pattern, 2. A heavier weight yarn, 3. Size 8 needles, and 4. Knit top down.  I’m lucky enough to own Barbara Walker’s Treasury of Knitting Edition 2 where I found the Crossed Braid rib.

Picking out the yarn.  I wanted to use up something in my stash that had been sitting for quite awhile.  I keep my stash in my great-grandmother Martha’s (Mathea) hump-back trunk.  Imagine a 16 year old fitting all of her belongings into a trunk and immigrating to America, leaving her Norway homeland behind.  I’ve put lavender sachets in the trunk so I love opening it, being greeted by a heavenly smell while taking in a wonderful view of glorious colors and textures. Found the perfect yarn that looks as if someone had squished various berries all over it:  blueberries, gooseberries, cranberries, raspberries, and blackberries.  Heavenly!  It’s Lion Brand Wool’s Autumn Sunset. Someone missed-named there, it is definitely Colorful Berries!

Now to design the pattern.  It took quite a bit of frogging until I was happy with the “lip” at the beginning, spacing of the holes, etc.  I also didn’t know if I wanted to use icord or use the lucet to weave cord.  Decisions, decisions, decisions.  The top picture shows the end product.

Here is a picture with the top open:

And, I think it would be great to knit with the top folded down.

Cover that Cake with Colorful Berries pattern.  This is such a versatile pattern, I think I’ll use different ribs each time I knit it.  Excitement bubbles within me since this is my very first pattern produced to share.  Shh, I’m planning on  giving this cake cover to sister Barb so don’t tell her.  If you use the pattern, please give me credit and SHARE pictures. Information is also posted at Ravelry.

Leave a Reply

