A Taste Explosion in My Mouth

Q – Whenever there is the slightest hint of black on the bananas, my husband, Alan, swears it’s time for me to make banana bread!  I know he buys the bananas and doesn’t eat them on purpose.  He says, “I bought them for you.”  Yea, right!  For me to make banana bread.  I do have the best recipe in the world.  I’ve used it since I was a child living at home with my parents, so I don’t have a clue which of my mom’s recipe books I got it from.  Pillsbury?  Betty Crocker?  Two rotten bananas are staring me in the face and it’s cold outside, plus I have fresh blueberries.

Banana Bread

1/2 cup Butter (one stick)
1 cup  Sugar
2 Eggs
1 cup (2 medium) Mashed, Ripe Bananas
1/4 cup Milk (if I have buttermilk I use it)
1 teaspoon Vanilla
2 cups Flour
1 teaspoon Baking Soda
1/2 teaspoon Salt

Optional:
1/2 cup Walnuts, chopped – usually just scoop out two handfuls and chop
1/2 cup Blueberries – usually just eyeball the amount I want to use

Cream using an electric mixer:
Butter and sugar

Add:
Eggs – Cream until batter looks “fluffy”

Add:
Bananas – cream until batter looks “fluffy”

Add:
Milk and vanilla – Cream until batter looks “fluffy”

The next needs to be added and gently hand-stirred (more like folding) so the batter does not become “tough”.  The flour should just get “wet”.
Flour, baking soda, and salt

When the flour is all “wet” add the nuts and blueberries, gently hand-stirring to add.

Put into greased bread pan, cook at 350 degrees for 55 – 60 minutes.  Use toothpick to see if bread is done.

I have messed around with this recipe a lot!  I’ve added different fruits, cinnamon, different nuts, etc.  It always turns out great!  Today I ran out of walnuts so I used pecans too.  I make it without added fruit, such as blueberries, but I ALWAYS add nuts!  It’s out of the oven now and cooling, time for a piece with cup of tea!!  YUMMY! A taste explosion in my mouth!

I’m dyeing inside today.  I’ll share the adventure with you tomorrow.

3 thoughts on “A Taste Explosion in My Mouth

Leave a Reply

