Strike Three I’m Out – Or, Today is Really Friday the 13th

~After three strikes today, I’m not going to even try to do anything crafty.  Think it will be safer to surf blogs or read or finish taxes. This is my day so far:  Strike 1. Came down to the kitchen this morning, cat was fussing to be fed. Now the cat usually is not quite so insistent, so I decided that feeding her was first priority.  Opened her cat food, turned around and knocked my favorite 2-cup, glass, measuring cup off of the kitchen counter.  I had left it there to dry last night after washing up the dyeing equipment.  Luckily the dog wasn’t downstairs so I didn’t have to worry about him getting in the glass. After about 10 minutes of sweeping I think I have all of the glass up.  Strike 2.  I decided I didn’t like the hank of pink yarn that I dyed yesterday. I dyed all day to meet a dye challenge that I set for myself.  I had planned on sharing that dyeing post today.  That’s out the window.  Decided I would try dyeing with Pink Lemonade Kool-Aid to see if I liked the color better. I got the water and the dye mixed in the crockpot and added the pre-soaked yarn, turned the heat to high.  After about 15 minutes I checked on the yarn.  What the heck?  The color was not taking very well — oh yeah, lesson to me: the crockpot is electric, just turning it to high won’t do a bit of good if it is not plugged in. I’d forgotten that for safety’s sake I’d best unplug the crockpot last night.  Strike 3. After checking for any new followers I was ecstatic to see Weekend Knitter.  So, while eating breakfast, I went through her site.  Enjoyed the fabulous yarns she spins, started salivating over Teavana (my favorite tea place), and saw her impressive Navajo Plying.  The yarn colors make me turn green with envy – I WANT!  My fingers and hands started itching to spin!

Took the cover off of Mariah, grabbed a blend called Ambrosia by Chasing Rainbows Dyeworks: 20% silk, 40% wool, 40% Camel Down.  Oops, no empty bobbin.  Wound the small amount I’d spun on one bobbin onto an empty toilet paper roll, so now I have an empty bobbin and I’m ready to let Mariah fly. Decided to spin another fractal, so I split the yarn and attenuated the portion. I was all ready to spin. The yarn is so soft, it’s spinning as a dream. Um, got mentally side-tracked and the yarn broke after about 15 minutes.  Tried to reconnect, hum, that broke. After three tries I decided that was my third strike of the day and put the yarn end on the velcro tab.  Things are not looking good for this crafter today.  I really think it’s because our taxes are not done – almost, but not quite.  It will only take about another hour to finish them.  I think I’ll keep having problems until they are done.  So, for today, nothing crafty to check in with.

4 thoughts on “Strike Three I’m Out – Or, Today is Really Friday the 13th

  1. I think you crafted great today! It’s a lot more than I’ve gotten done. I’m still doing laundry! But I do intend to spindle a bit and attempt to read a spinning book this evening (and not just look at the pretty pictures 😉 ).

    Like

      • It’s called SPINNING WOOL BEYOND THE BASICS by Anne Field. Not sure that I’m ready for beyond the basics, but it was an out of print book that many spinners found valuable-especially for learning to spin according to the crimp. If it goes out of print again any time soon, I won’t have to search forever for the info everywhere else. 🙂

        Like

      • Oh, that’s one of the books that Ceclia Quinn, spinner extraordinaire, said we should purchase when I was at the spinning retreat a couple of Fridays ago. Looks as if I should get it.

        Like

Leave a Reply

