Large Blocking Project part 1

– The hardest part of a large knitted project is figuring out how to block it. I had been on the look out for a blocking board that would handle large projects, such as my green sweater. My eureka moment finally happened while I visiting my mother last winter.  She was watching one of her quilting shows on TV. They were show how to make an ironing board out of insulation board when boom it hit me! What a great blocking board this would make. Most of the ones I had been looking at were made out of plywood and entirely too heavy for me to carry. I used RMAX solid insulation board which can be cut to the desired size. It is ideal since it withstands the heat of  ironing or steaming and the foil makes it water-proof. I made mine with a full sheet, 4 feet x 8 feet.

Next, I covered it with quilted ironing board fabric that I bought at JoAnn Fabric and Craft Store. At first I wasn’t going to use the whole sheet of insulation, but once I looked at it I decided why not. Before you by your fabric decide what size will work for you, so you don’t have to piece the fabric together. You can see that quilted fabric is in two pieces because I decided on the size after I cut it. I pinned the fabric to the back of the board until I find a suitable adhesive. This was the perfect for blocking board for my wonderful green sweater. I seamed the shoulders together, dampened the sweater, then laid it out on the board, and pinned it to dry. Perfection!

Part 2 will be blocking the circular sweater I am currently knitting now. So look for more blocking tips in the future.

4 thoughts on “Large Blocking Project part 1

  1. What a great idea! Thanks for sharing the instructions with us. (I’ve been known to block out on the lawn (!) on top of a sheet on a hot summer day. Dries quickly but you have to keep pets off!

    Like

Leave a Reply

