It’s For The Birds!

 STOP!  Don’t throw those bits of yarn from knitting and fluff from spinning.  Put the no-longer-needed-because-it’s-Spring suet holders to use.  I packed mine full of fluff and yarn.  You can see that the birds have been having a great time pulling out the bits and using in their nests.  It’s fun to see a bird with a beak full of fluff!  This was full.  I have it right by the bird feeders.

A beautiful have-to-be-outside day!  You can see the blue skies in the background. 😎  The Texas Privet is abuzz with bees and giving off a heavenly smell.  Too bad it is so MESSY!  The scent is drawing me out! Time for birds, butterflies, and flowers!

7 thoughts on “It’s For The Birds!

  1. This is such a great idea!! I’m going to try it. I saw one of those suet holders at Loews the other day and I almost got it but I didn’t know why I wanted it! I don’t know anything about suet.

    Like

    • It’s a “fat cake” for birds to eat in areas where it snows, gets really cold, and nothing is in bloom. We don’t really need them here, but dang it, I wanted one this winter. 😎 Now there are so many plants blooming, seeding, that I can’t even get many birds to come to the seed feeders. I definitely won’t put suet (it’s technically solid beef fat) out. Too hot! You’ll love seeing the birds fly off with your fluff while you sit admiring your fabulous studio and smelling your roses and lavendar. 😎

      Like

  2. Hmmm … I’ve read arguments out there that these bits of yarn is harmful to the birds (or wildlife?) – as in if they eat it? I think it was argued by the same people who are against yarn-bombing. Have you heard about that?

    Like

    • Hey, missed this somehow. The idea was actually in a birding magazine that I subscribe to, so I’m sure it’s ok. The birds are used to carrying stuff in their beaks for building nests. 😎

      Like

  3. Robins are now here in Montana.
    Trying to get to Curls “Three” an it won’t come up. I wanted to write her that things do come in threes; in fact, my third child was born on the 3rd and she believes in threes!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

