Here’s the Yarn, Now Which Hat?

 First I’d like to thank the person who was kind enough to share their virus with me.  Big Thanks! It’s taken almost a week to feel good again. I know at least one person caught the big snafu on our blog yesterday and I’m blaming it on the high fever I had for days! 😎

Now to the topic-at-hand!  I LOVE hats. Mostly the floppy, sun-type hats, not the hard, felted, winter ones. I definitely do not wear baseball hats.  My daughters look adorable in them but I look as if I’m a big watermelon with a small hat on! Yuck! 😎 Visors are cute, but I don’t like a sunburned scalp. I’m fair and sunburn easily so a hat is a must. When in Australia, we discovered that they have one of the highest skin cancer rates in the world.  They had a catch phrase in an ad campaign developed by their skin cancer society:  Slip, Slop, Slap! It means: Slip on a t-shirt, Slop on some sunscreen, and Slap on a hat!  That’s what I made my kids do growing up. No sunburns on my watch! 😎 Slip, Slop, Slap!  Clever!

Q’s Tea Spout Do-Dad pattern was featured on Dagen’s gratis-beskrivning. Loose translation: “Day’s best freebies”. It features free knitting and crochet patterns on the net. It really has some links to wonderful patterns. The links go to the pattern writer’s blog, so the blogs can be in different languages.  I saw this Mia hat from knitonthenet and immediately my mind said, “Gimme, gimme, gimme.” How absolutely spot-on for gardening? Huge brim to protect both face and neck.

About the same time, Barb and I were at Michaels and I found the following close-out, cotton yarn for $.39 a skein. No typo! How perfect is this yarn for a gardening hat? A hat that can be squished, get mud and dirt on it, accidentally stepped on, and be thrown into the washer without worry. 😎 Perfection!

As life does, I was watching Rosemary and Thyme and the character Laura Thyme was wearing the best knit or crocheted hat! She plays a gardener in the series. Now, I LOVED that hat so time for hat surfing.  Found this hat which not exactly like Laura’s is the same type of hat with bobbles.

Dilemma! Sigh……

Now for the challenge, I’d love to have Sweaty Knitter write a blog about hats! It would be fun to read!

8 thoughts on “Here’s the Yarn, Now Which Hat?

  1. We’re obviously related Sarah because I was going to comments to say the exact same thing about the second hat! It does look like an unrolled condom!! Ha!! Loves ya mom, but floppy hat gets my vote 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

