This Sock Pattern Is Much Better!

~You may remember the horribly, uninteresting sock pattern I was using to knit a pair of socks. With much gusto, I unraveled them and started a new pattern. This is the yuck pattern:

The new pattern is Tidal Wave Socks by Deby Lake. One of my blogger friends was knitting them and I apologize I can’t remember who. 8-( I’m already loving these socks.Β  This is the softest yarn! Debbie Macomber Petals, merino, angora, and nylon. I purposely wanted a “water” pattern since this yarn reminds me of water. Can’t you just hear the waves against the shore? 😎

I always knit socks and hats on two circular needles. With that darn Arthur-itis in my hands it’s the only way! 😎 Anyway….. I remember when Socks Soar on Two Circular Needles: A Manual of Elegant Knitting Techniques and Patterns by Cat Bordhi was published in 2001. That technique was for me! I tried it immediately and it “took”. 😎


One of the first Needlecraft Magazines I read was August 1918. Imagine my surprise when I found a Letter to the Editor about knitting two socks at once. The following is a copy of the letter. Following the letter is the article on How to Knit Two Socks At Once. I didn’t have my great equipment for scanning, etc in Montana so I’ve Photoshopped the article together. 😎 It was so long, I didn’t want to type it incase I made a typo. If any of you try this method please let us know. 😎 I really love reading old history about knitting. 😎

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “This Sock Pattern Is Much Better!

  1. Thanks for providing the article! And your new sock pattern looks beautiful. I haven’t knit socks for a while and just last night was sitting up in bed perusing sock patterns! I haven’t yet tried the circular needle way of knitting socks … using 5 needles is so comfortable for me I haven’t wanted to “bother.” But I guess I should give it a try! πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Hah, that double knitting technique for two socks looks like a real mental challenge. I’d end up knitting them together for sure. Like a straight jacket, only for my feet.

    Like

Leave a Reply

