The More Things Change, The More They Stay The Same!

~One of my favorite parts in magazines is letters from subscribers. Which means that while going through the old Needlecraft Magazines I had to read the letters. By reading the letters one can gain an insight to the times. When I read the following letter I laughed out loud. We may think that we have become more sophisticated than previous generations, but the more things change, the more they stay the same! The majority of the knitting/crocheting bloggers that I follow admit to having more than one WIP (Work In Progress) at any given time. I’ve admitted that I have serious KADD (Knitter’s Attention Deficit Disorder) and refuse to admit how many projects I actually have on needles. I will say that on the couch in my knitting bag I have 1 crochet project and 3 knitting projects. 😎 For all my KADD buddies, this letter is for you:

“I know the old idea is that a “thrifty woman never has several pieces of work on hand at one time, but I really think it rests me to do this. So I have several little workbags, each holding a piece of needlework with the materials necessary for it. Sometimes I work on one piece, sometimes on another, as suits my fancy. The work does not get tiresome as when I have but one piece at a time, and I think I really get more done. Just try it. – Mrs. A. B. D. Maine”

When does a WIP become a UFO (Unfinished Object)? I guess I should admit that the afghan I started in 1996 is officially a UFO and not a WIP as previously reported on the April 6 post. This was such an easy pattern that I can remember it almost 40 years later.

Afghan pattern:

Cast on 144 stitches (or multiples of 12), can make narrower for a shawl

Garter stitch for 1 inch (knit each row)

Row 1: k3, *k6, (yo, k2tog) 3x* *repeat across the row unto last three stitches, k3

Row 2 and all even rows: k3, purl across to last three stitches, k3

Row 3: k3, *(yo, k2tog) 3x, k6* *repeat across the row unto last three stitches, k3

Repeat rows 1 – 4 until length you want.

End garter stitch for 1 inch

Leave a Reply

