Around The World With The Tea Spout Do-dad!

~Who knew that such a little pattern would have so much interest? Using my teapot one morning, I became a bit annoyed when the tea dripped all over the place when pouring. Natural solution, take some scrap yarn and make a tea spout do-dad. I want to thank everyone who has visited us because they like the do-dad. Your visit is appreciated! Just to update newcomers this was the pattern:

Susan’s Tea Spout Do-Dad
Materials
US  4
Sport weight yarn – you don’t need much, this is perfect for scrap yarn.  I used wool, but cotton would work just as well.
Large needle to sew up side

Cast on 14 stitches
Row 1: Knit
Row 2: Purl
Row 3: Knit
Row 4: *knit, purl* repeat across row+
Row 5: *purl-knit* repeat across row+
Row 6: Knit
Row 7: Purl
Row 8: Knit
Cast off leaving a long enough tail to sew up side.
+Rows 4 and 5 are the seed or moss stitch

If you use the pattern PLEASE send pictures. We’d really love to see them! We’d like to see how many countries are represented! 😎

I received a letter from Zillah asking for clarification of rows 4 and 5 so I have re-written those two rows hopefully making it clearer. She was making the do-dads for a tea party that was going to be given. I asked her to please send pictures! Yea! The tea party was held. Look at the clever presentation. She said they had a competition and asked the attendees what the do-dad was, “but no one knew”. 😎 She went on to say that one of the ladies used hers “when she had a tea-party the next day”. Thank you Bahrain.  This bit of joy made my day! Isn’t this a brilliant idea?
 
On July 15 we were featured on 365sakerdukansticka blog (loose translation: 365 things you can knit). It is another Scandinavian site which features free patterns. I did find it interesting that they translated my pattern without contacting me. They call it a droppstopp! 😎 A Drop Stop. I actually got a few more ideas for the use of my do-dad from that site. They suggested that it could be used on a wine bottle or for a scrunchie. Great ideas! Why didn’t we think of it? 😎 This is their translation of my pattern:

Mönstret är på engelska och här kommer en enkel översättning:
14 maskor
Varv 1-3: slätstickning
Varv 4-5: mosstickning
Varv 6-8: slätstickning
Maska av och lämna tillräcligt med tråd för att sy ihop arbetet.

Now every time I use my do-dad I’ll be thinking of the people world-wide who are also using theirs. Again, thank you to all of you who are interested in making my do-dad. And a special thanks to Zillah for sharing her pictures. Remember, PLEASE share with us. 😎 Email– curlsandq@gmail.com

2 thoughts on “Around The World With The Tea Spout Do-dad!

  1. What a lovely display!
    I always enjoy seeing what creative things people will come up with, I’m always inspired and impressed by creativity. What a creative way to show off the Tea spout do-dad

    Looking at the shape, I’m inspired to make something, but it’s not as awesome. I need “sweat bands” or “wristlets” (told you it wasn’t glamorous) for when I’m working outside. I do perspire a lot while gardening or cutting the grass. We live on four acres of land, the majority of it is wooded, but there’s still plenty of yard for me to cut/garden. I think I’ll make mine in cotton or perhaps a cotton/poly blend for the elasticity.

    Like

    • Great idea! I’m tired just reading the post. 😎 I grew up on an acre and that was enough work! My yard is postage stamp size because of it. 😎 Using a rib pattern will make the band very elastic. Share when you’re done. 😎

      Like

Leave a Reply

