Shirts Off to You Ryker

 – While on our Northwest Journey, Q and I saw a boy’s shirt at one of the Washington quilt shops that was really creative. The shirt was made out of fat-quarters. With 3 grandson’s I knew I’d be making some shirts. Ryker’s birthday was coming up so this one is entitled “Shirts Off to You Ryker”!

One mission during the Northwest Journey became: Find fat quarters for boys’ shirts. I bought lots of different fat quarters at the various quilt stores we visited. It was a difficult decision but I finally selected three of them for Ryker’s shirt; one for the back and two for the front.


  

Step 1: Using a boy’s shirt pattern, cut out the back. After I cut out the back there was a piece of scrap fabric left over which I used for a pocket. Since green is Ryker’s favorite color, I made sure the green truck was centered on the pocket.

Step 2: Cut out the two front pieces. Important! Be sure to flip the pattern, so you DO NOT make two rights or two left fronts.

Step 3: I like to use a French seam on children’s clothes. Put the wrong sides together and sew a 1/4″ seam. Iron with seam to one side. DON’T iron open the seam. Put the right sides together and I sew a 3/8″ seam. Together they make the 5/8″ seam allowance.

Step 4: When making sharp corners, after trimming off the excess fabric, I use a knitting needle to push out the corner to a point.

Finished shirt! See the green truck is centered on the pocket. The lines in the blue fabric represents a road map. I decide to use the same fabric for the sleeves.  The fabric is red bricks. I used a bright color to brighten up the shirt. 🙂

What little boy wouldn’t LOVE to wear this shirt?

8 thoughts on “Shirts Off to You Ryker

  1. You did a great job. I love the colors, and you’re right what boy wouldn’t love this. I do the same thing. I use a knitting needle for those sharp corners too. 🙂

    Your lovely shirt gives me an idea…

    I wonder if they sell Angry Birds fabric? My five-year old nephew loves those critters. I just gifted him with a crocheted Red Angry Bird. Colorful fat quarters, mixed in with licensed Angry Birds fabric? My nephew would be in angry bird heaven.

    Like

  2. It’s really a cute shirt mom. Thanks for making it for him. Also, the Angry Bird hats are definately getting their fair share of use. Everyone always asks where we got them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

