“Brilliant Save”

~Most of the women I know have some type of list for recipes they’ve seen and want to try. My computer has a “Recipe” folder into which is saved all of the recipes found online that I want to try. Blackberry Roll has been staring at me for months now! Hubs brought home a basket of blackberries. Yipee, time to try the recipe. It has an outer crust with blackberry filling rolled inside. Blackberries, flour, sugar, butter, and nutmeg, how yummy does that sound? Well, it was HORRID! Hubs and I both agreed that it was NASTY!

Now a lot of ingredients went into that disaster and I wasn’t ready to dump it! The blackberries stared up at me begging to be saved! 😎 Put on my thinking cap and decided I would make a bread-pudding-type of recipe with the mess.  When it was totally cool, I broke it into two parts: top and bottom and layered the parts into a two quart baking dish:

  1. Pam or grease the baking dish.
  2. The top was cut into about 1 inch square pieces and placed on the bottom of the dish.
  3. Add about a cup of blueberries for the next layer
  4. The bottom layer, which had the blackberries on it was cut into inch chunks and turned upside down so the blackberries were facing down.
  5. Make the custard and pour over the top. See custard recipe below.
  6. Sprinkle with sugar and finely chopped walnuts.
  7. Bake covered at 375 degrees F for 50 -55 minutes. I took the cover off the last 5 minutes. If you don’t have a cover, aluminum foil will work.

I’ll assume that you don’t have a wreck of a blackberry roll to work with. So you can just use stale bread broken into bits. Make sure to add blueberries and/or blackberries.

Custard: Any basic bread pudding custard will work

  1. 3 eggs, beaten
  2. 1 1/2 cups white sugar
  3. 2 tablespoons light brown sugar
  4. 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  5. 3 cups whole milk

Serve hot with ice cream, whipping cream, or Half and Half. It is good all by itself! It needs to be refrigerated. Hubs pronounced, “Brilliant save!” Hurray, I just repurposed the Blackberry Roll into something truly delicious! If you have had a “Brilliant Save” we’d love to hear about it!

2 thoughts on ““Brilliant Save”

  1. Excellent work, the saved dish looks yummy… too bad the blackberry roll didn’t turn out well. It does sound delicious. I remember rescuing a stir fry dish… although it wasn’t bad, I wasn’t thrilled with it, and so I turned that into eggrolls and wontons. My daughter inhaled those.

    Let’s see… the most recent item I recycled was a bed sheet. The material looked like new, so I covered a clothes hamper that is older than me; It’s over 41 years old. In fact, I revamped it before. It got another makeover, since our bathroom is being remodeled. That clothes hamper was revamped by me before. I also made matching curtains with a top ruffle from the same material. Tiebacks were made, with matching flowers. It turned out lovely. I made the curtains this morning. I’ll post pictures later this week.

    Oh by the way, I’m canning tomorrow. Figs, grapes, and peaches will be turned into jams and jellies. My daughter is excited to help. My little helper will be back in school in a few weeks. I’ll definitely miss her. 😦

    Like

    • Oh, send the wontons and eggrolls right on over here! Super yum! Meant to ask the other day, have you made yakisoba? Fell in love with it in Okinawa. Grandkids love it too. So easy to make, if you haven’t made it you should!

      Wow! so much energy for this heat wave! That sheet really was used well. I can’t wait to see the pics. Must admit that when it’s hot I turn into a slug. 8-( is that a padded clothes hamper? So clever!

      Have a great time canning! I’d love to have your little helper. 😎 I thought school started in August back there. My grandkids in Hawaii already started. I thought California was the only state that started in September.

      Like

Leave a Reply

