Peach Raspberry Jam – Jammin’ in the Kitchen

~With 3 peaches and about 1 1/2 cups of raspberries quickly reaching their “eat by” date it was time to find a use for both. Perfect choice, another small canning recipe. I like small recipes so I can be done in about an hour!


Peach Raspberry Jam

Ingredients:

  • 3 peaches, peeled, pitted and chopped
  • 1 1/2 cups raspberries, washed
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice
  • 4 cups sugar
  • 1 (1-3/4oz) package powdered fruit pectin
  1. Boil peached for 1 minute, put into cold water, peel. Pit and chop.
  2. Puree peaches and raspberries. NOTE: if you are making jelly strain through a sieve to remove seeds and other bits.
  3. Pour into a pan and add sugar. Stir until sugar is dissolved.
  4. Stir pectin into fruit mixture. I like to gently whisk in the pectin so it dissolves well.
  5. Bring to rolling boil for exactly 1 minute, stirring constantly.
  6. Remove from heat and skim off foam. NOTE: you can always add about 1/2 teaspoon of butter or oleo to reduce foaming. I don’t want this oil in my jams and jellies.
  7. Ladle into sterilized jars.
  8. Place jars in rack in canner willed with boiling water Cover and gently boil for 10 minutes.
  9. Remove from water and invert jars  for 5 minutes.
  10. Turn right-side up, you should hear the seal pop.
  11. Cool for at least 24 hours.

Makes approximately: 5 cups or 2 1/1 pints.

A question was asked why I invert the jars.  I could go into an entire physics explanation, air,metal, etc,  but the simple one is the hot jam will help with the seal, keeping out any air, air pressure outside of the jar is higher that inside, the jam against the seal insures air won’t enter. Turning it right-side up, the cold air outside of the jar exerts more pressure than the hot air inside of the jar so it forces the lid down. POP! Jar is sealed. I know some people leave upside down for 24 hours, but they’re missing the point of the two different air pressures. BTW -that’s why straws work: lower the air pressure in your mouth by sucking in. Air pressure on the liquid pushes it up into the straw and your mouth.  😎 Aren’t you glad you read this far?

2 thoughts on “Peach Raspberry Jam – Jammin’ in the Kitchen

  1. That looks delicious. I must make it, since I’m sure my daughter would love this jam.

    My mother always inverted her jars too, so naturally I did the same when I started canning. Although it was twenty years later (my mom regularly canned when I was 5-12 years old) before I started canning again, many of the techniques that I learned (initially through observation, but eventually I was able to help with the canning process too)I remembered.

    My daughter asked me why I inverted the jars, and I gave her the educational spiel that my mother gave me over 30 years ago. 🙂

    I prefer a looser jam/butter so most times I don’t use pectin. If I want something thicker I’ll (usually) make my own thickening agent such as apples or lemons. One of my older friends told me that pectin free preserves is the ‘English style’ of making preserves. She’s an older German lady, that’s in my quilting group. She was the one that got me interested in crochet. Her work is exquisite!:)

    Now that I think about it, my mother rarely used it herself. It’s how she learned from her step-mom. My mother’s birth mom died when she was just 3. Her dad remarried, and they were poor, so they scrimped and did without a lot of things. (He was a sharecropper) but they never starved. Such an interesting history there… our family owns most of the land that he worked. I come from a long line of hard workers, obstacles never kept us from moving forward.

    Oh, and I inherited my mother’s old Presto pressure cooker. I must take a photo and post on my blog.

    A few hours ago, I made a fig, strawberry,banana, peach butter… 🙂

    Like

    • What an interesting history! My dad was the first one in his family to graduated from both high school and college. So we know first hand that perseverance pays off! 😎 His family was a casualty of the Dust Bowl.

      Mom wanted to give her Presto to me, but I’m really nervous around pressure cookers. Think Barb took it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

