Orange’u Glad I Said Shawl

– I have been collecting orange yarns at just about every yarn store Q and I have been to in the last 2 years. This all started when I saw a fantastic shawl on display in a yarn store in Missoula, MT.  Q and I were at the store with our mom. She loved the shawl.

As you can see, I have added a reddish brown yarn to the mix. I just found a dark green to use as a slight accent to help pop the orange. In the bottom right hand picture, I used two strands of the yarn; one from the middle and one from the inside of the ball.

I cast on 200 stitches  using a US 10 needle. After finishing a row, I cut the yarn long enough so I can make a fringe at each end of the shawl. I tied the next piece of yarn to the one I just cut. I knit four rows of each yarn before changing to the next yarn. I am just knitting-as-I-go and randomly choosing the next yarn. Go ahead and try one. It is great way to use up odd balls and left over yarns. Just a note: If your yarn is too thin mix it with another yarn or use 2 strands together. 🙂

10 thoughts on “Orange’u Glad I Said Shawl

Leave a Reply

