Goodbye, My Favorite Kindle

~The sad news is that someone stole my Kindle yesterday. I place it on the end table in the doctor’s office when a magazine cover caught my eye.  The nurse called us back to the examination room and off I went with the magazine in hand. When remembering that I had left the Kindle, I went back for it but someone had already absconded with it. I left my name at reception and with the nurses just in case. The five-fingered-criminal is in for a surprise since I called daughter Em to go online and delete it from my Kindle account then I called Amazon to block the serial number so the thief cannot register it. So, the person can read the books on my fully charged Kindle until it runs out of power. I really hope they purchase a power cord thinking that they can recharge it and have a grand time! I had purchased a skin to make it “pretty” and a tote case to protect it. Sigh….. I loved my Kindle. I didn’t think I would since I love holding and smelling books, but I was in for a pleasant surprise. The Hubs gave it to me as a Christmas present a few years ago. He’s so kind, I, of course was crying and he said, “It’s just a thing! It can be replaced. It’s not us, we’re not hurt.”

To feel better, when I got home, I looked at the patterns I have store in Ravelry. Hurray! I forgot that Romi Hill released her first shawl pattern, Carson, in her ebook: 7 Small Shawls; Year 3: Home is Where the Heart Is. I really think in need a shawl in this colorway:

Romi Hill

8 thoughts on “Goodbye, My Favorite Kindle

  1. Sorry about your Kindle, but at least you remembered to do the smart thing and disconnect it from your accounts right away. Kindles are getting cheaper and cheaper these days. Esp the old fashioned ones with the buttons on the side, which are actually the ones I like the best.

    Like

    • Thank you! I bet people don’t know that a stolen Kindle can be stopped. They can read what’s on the Kindle but cannot add anything new. I do have almost 200 books on there. But if they don’t like Agatha Christie type mysteries they are out of luck! There is the second Harry Potter book, but that’s a rental that ends today. Ha Ha Thief!

      Like

  2. So sorry for you. It’s such a sad thing when something that we love is stolen. Even tho it can be replaced it’s never the same. You might still get it back. They may abandon it when they find it won’t work for them. Then maybe someone will turn it in. I lost my cell phone at the PO one time, & it was turned it, I believe by a very kind person. The only reason it wasn’t stolen by someone is that the battery was dead. Otherwise I am sure it would have been taken by someone. 😉 Sheryl

    Like

    • Thank you for your kind words. I didn’t put my phone number on it, darn it! I will on my next one. The Hubs and I have found phones, wallets, atms cards, etc. We always turn them in. Oh well…

      Like

Leave a Reply

