Spinning With Jacob

~Fleece from a Jacob sheep was donated to our class. The fibers are thick and very crimpy. The colors are white to dark brown.

Jacob fiber

I couldn’t wait to card it in class, so I used my “cheapie” flick card – a pet brush and mouse pad. For the small amount I had, this worked quite well. The tea towel is my carding and spinning towel that I put across my lap to protect clothes from fiber and all it’s bits and pieces. The mouse pad is a memento given to me by my son-in-law who brought it back from China.

After spinning, there was just enough yarn to knit and to felt for use as a mug coaster. You can see the color range from white to dark brown. When spinning, I just grabbed the fleece without regard to color. The stripe was actually unplanned.

Mug Coaster

Materials:

Spun Jacob Fleece
US 10 needle
Needle – for weaving in ends

Instructions:
Cast on 20 stitches – I used Old Norwegian Cast On
Knit every row until there is about 12 inches of yarn left.
Bind off.
Weave in ends

Throw into the washer to felt. This made a nice thick coaster. About 4″ x 3 1/2″ It’s a perfect size for my coffee mug.

4 thoughts on “Spinning With Jacob

Leave a Reply

