Surprise in Big Sur

– Who would have guessed that my favorite bird is the California Condor. Not in a million years did I ever think I would see one in Big Sur. This picture was taken, along with about 20 other pictures, on a chance that I captured a picture of a condor. The two, yes two, that flew over my head, about 10 feet above, are not the ones in the picture, because my camera was in the car.

If you look really closely, you can see the right wing has a transmitter on it.

Seeing one fly over your head is amazing. It was all over in a few seconds. I could see the transmitters on their wing, and I thought how can they fly with something so large on their wing. Picture yourself standing on the top of the cliff and up flies a condor over your head than down the other side in a flash. 1987 the last condor was taken in to captivity. In 1997, California Condors were released on the Big Sur Coast.

The Big Sur Coast is one of the most beautiful thing to see. Every corner you turn is a new amazing site. Look for these pictures next.  🙂

Leave a Reply

