Oops, Spinning Tips

~Oops! How the heck did I end-up with two partially spun bobbins of the same yarn? I’m blaming it on the fact that I started spinning this yarn when I first got Mariah. I still have a good bit of this fiber left to spin.

In order to split the fiber to have an even amount on each bobbin, I need to know the weight already on each bobbin. I have since weighed my empty bobbins and marked the tops with the weights. (The Woolery had run out of maple bobbins so I bought some walnut ones which weigh less.) With the weights marked on the top, I stand a better chance of spinning even amounts of yarn on each bobbin. Notice another tip, I put a dot on the end of the spindle which goes towards me on the spinning wheel when spinning. This way when I take off a bobbin to spin something else, I can do a quick visual and put the bobbin back on going in the correct direction. I did that before I put the weight, now the weight can serve as a dot.

2 thoughts on “Oops, Spinning Tips

  1. What are you going to do with all this yarn you are spinning? Will you; have enough energy to knit now? and do you have to dye all this yarn first???? I am getting tired just thinking of all the work that has to be done….Going to take a break and let you suffer……..

    Like

Leave a Reply

