Wool Candy Rolags

q~The last time I was at my favorite Japanese market, they had these intriguing Wool Candy packets.  The ad said they were for needle felting, but the image my brain created for the Wool Candy was carded and spun. Super yum!

Here’s the pack:

wool_candy

Look at the luscious colors, most of the yarns have different textures from each other and there is a sparkle roll. Out of curiosity, I grabbed the Color Grid and compared the colors. It was fun to see the the colors all lined up in the same relative column, with the rust color as the contrast. Too cool!

colors

Ah, the tendonitis in my right thumb can tell you how long it took to card these 24 rolags! They’re now all ready to spin. Question is I’d like to spin short, forward draw to get lofty, soft yarn, but that kills the thumb, so do I settle for the long draw which is a ton faster, doesn’t hurt the thumb, but gives “tougher and sleeker” yarn? Hum…  If you look closely at the pic, you can see the spinning towel I put over my lap when working with fibers. See how nicely the rolags are place on it? That means my lap is LOADED with fiber. Forgot to put it over my lap. And, why am I doing this when the Christmas gifts are not finished? Sigh….

rolags

6 thoughts on “Wool Candy Rolags

      • Q – Reread this morning, did “these” mean the fibers? If so, there is a neat Japanese group of stores off of I-163 in Clairmont and Mercury right on the corner. I got the pack in the “variety” store to the right of the food store. Can’t remember the name of the store.

        Like

    • Q – Hi Sara, the handcarders are by Ashford, they are the same size as the ones we have in class. I’m not sure how much fiber I used. I just loaded the card. I did watch the Ashford Hand Carding video on YouTube.

      Like

Leave a Reply

