Spin-Off Speaks To Me

q~The new Spin-off magazine arrived in the mail yesterday. It wasn’t until page 26 that I realized the magazine was “talking” to me. Knitting Traditions had an article that spoke to me a few months ago, but with Spin-off it’s consistently on almost every page.

It starts with the cover “Paint with Fiber on a Blending Board”.  My spinning teacher purchased one for the class, which I shared on the Nov 15 blog: Batting 1000 which featured a video on using the blending board. I was unhappy with the rolags I made since they really weren’t “blended”, they were just big blobs of color, so I hand carded them and spun onto my “samples” bobbin. The article in Spin-off, “Carding on a Blending Board”, by Gwen Powell is excellent with photographs accompanying the text. As mentioned in my previous blog, you really can’t use a blending board properly without a brush. In the article is a warning, “…make sure there is no gap between the stripes because if you leave gaps, there will be thin spots in the rolag, which could make spinning a consistent yarn more challenging.” And that’s the truth, as you can see below.

rolag_spun

 

Looking at the picture of the bobbin, the spun, re-blended rolags are spun on either end of the bobbin. The color in the middle of the bobbin is from a different sample. I use the sample bobbin to spin all of the different color samples we’ve been given in class, or that I get as free sample when ordering yarn. When it’s full, I plan on Navajo plying to keep the colors and samples true and then making a sampler scarf.

8 thoughts on “Spin-Off Speaks To Me

  1. I got my Spin Off just a few days after Margaret’s demo and was also super excited to see that blending board article! Now what I need is a whole bunch of different colors to play with…
    Your rolag looks beautiful!

    Like

    • Hi Sara! Thanks! Ok, how come I just got my Spin-Off yesterday and you got yours ages ago? We need to get brushes and ask Margaret to bring the blending board back to class. Maybe we can get Shawna (sp) to bring in her “left overs” again?

      Like

    • Q – Thank you Opal! The bobbin is full of all types of different samples which aren’t very long, anywhere from 5 – 10 yards per sample. I made two rolags out of the awful blending board rolags after recombining the colors. Each rolag took about 15 minutes to spin. They were not very large. You’ll definitely love spinning!

      Like

Leave a Reply

