WIP Wednesday: Linen Scarf

q~Ok, so I purchased a new pattern after swearing to use ones I already own.  I totally fell in love with the State Street Cowl by Quince and Co. Quite awhile ago I had ordered 10 skeins of  elann.com’s Peru Soft, which is a chunky yarn. This cowl used up two skeins. I love the way this is quickly knitting up, using US 13 and US 15 needles.  The pattern has four repeats, if you live in a warmer climate I think two repeats would be fine. If you want a cowl that’s large enough to cover your head I’d add one more pattern repeat.

Q's State Street Cowl

Q’s State Street Cowl

curlsQ and I learned how to do the linen stitch, see our January 16, 2013 What’s With Yesterday? And, lovely Linen Stitch. I have started making my linen stitch scarf. I am really excited at how the color is turning out, since the pattern, by Church Mouse, calls for 3 different colors of yarn and I’m just using one. The hand dyed yarn, I chose, is turning out great. Casting on 450 stitches was a challenge, and that many stitches/row takes about fifteen minutes to knit.

This was one of my goals for the New Year, learning a new stitch. See my post. Curls 

Curl's Linen Stitch Scarf

Curl’s Linen Stitch Scarf

Don’t forget to check out other WIP’s or maybe UFO’s at Ginny’s Yarn Along or Tami’s WIP Wednesday.

14 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday: Linen Scarf

  1. Both of your WIPs look lovely!

    I do love linen stitch. I once ordered a pattern that used linen stitch for scraps of yarn. Unfortunately it creates unsightly bumps if the scrap isn’t long enough to go all the way across the row. So I’m still hunting for patterns that work with shorter pieces.

    Like

    • Q – LOL! I’m a retired teacher and used to tell my students there is always something new to learn because people are so clever and inventive that new ideas are always there.

      Like

  2. I really do love the linen stitch. Is it bad that I can’t remember if I tried it or not? I want to say yes… but I don’t have any items with that stitch but that’s not saying anything since I do tend to give most of my items away, heh!

    Like

  3. Must try the ‘proper’ linen stitch soon … maybe for my Dr. Who scarf. 450 stitches? That sounds like what I did with my latest mishap – I ended up with a 15-ft scarf! Still trying to figure out what to do with it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

