Scandinavian Stories – Must be Saturday

q~Big plans! Today was going to be the post of all of the lovely spinning items I’ve been working on. Gray day, cold outside, I refuse to go out and take pictures and it’s too dark in the house. Instead, I’ll cover my second love – reading! I have been on a Scandinavian crime authors kick for months! It started with the book The Redbreast by Jo Nesbo. It is actually the third in the Harry Hole series, but the first translated into English. It seems as if the books are not translated into English starting with the first one in the series.  What’s fun is the look into another countries laws, customs, history, geography, social problems, etc.  It’s surprising how often the United States is mentioned, and not always in a good way. I’ve been reading books and listening to audiobooks. Both of us LOVE audiobooks! Sister Terri got us hooked on them years ago. She showed us how we could download them for free from the library. Audiobooks are our “go to” when we knit, sew, drive, walk, clean house, etc. I used to drive both an hour to work and an hour home, audiobooks were a life saver! My iPod is always filled to capacity with audiobooks.

For Christmas The Hubs fed into my Scandinavian frenzy by giving to me The Fourth Man by K. O. Dahl and The Demon Of Dakar by Kjell Eriksson. I’m in the middle of The Demon Of Dakar. And, of course, my bookmark is of a Scandinavian Elf: Sweden = tomten, Norway = nissen, Denmark = nissemanden, and inland = tonttu. Whatever, he’s doing a good job of saving my place.

The Fourth Man - K. O. DahlThe Demon Of Dakar - Kjell Eriksson

The Fourth Man – K. O. Dahl
The Demon Of Dakar – Kjell Eriksson

This is a partial list of Scandinavian Authors which have been translated into English, I’ve made comments by the books I’ve read or audiobooks I’ve listened too. I’m hoping to put a big dent in the list by the end of the year.

There are authors I’ve missed, in particular I know I’ve missed one but for the life of me I can’t remember the name. If you have a favorite please let me know.  I see all the crime novels set in Sweden and think, “Hummmmmm. It’s right up there with Cabot Cove!”

One thought on “Scandinavian Stories – Must be Saturday

Leave a Reply

