Knitting And Sewing Up Something Good: WIP Wednesday

q~I admit it, there are times during the cold winter evenings when I choose to go to bed early to snuggle under the covers, knit and watch Midsomer Murders. This is such a fun Agatha Christy- type of mystery to watch, especially all snuggly in one’s bed. I’ve started the series from the beginning again, let’s see does this make it the 4th or 5th time? The show has aired on ITV since 1997, and is aired a year later here in the States. To my great dismay John Nettles retired from the show, it’s not the same without him. On my bucket list are the locations in Chilterns area of Buckinghamshire and the neighbouring counties of Hertfordshire, Berkshire, Oxfordshire and Surrey, where most of the series is filmed. If nothing else, I love watching the programs for the beautiful location shots. All of my stash was entered into Ravelry listening to “Tom” solve yet another case! My latest “bed-knitting-Midsomer-watching” project is the Victorian Shawlette by Sivia Harding, one of my favorite designers. It’s an easy knit if you remember to place markers. I’m using Frog Tree alpaca. Such a lovely yarn with which to knit.

 

Victorian Shawlette by Sivia Harding

Victorian Shawlette by Sivia Harding

 

curls~I love making clothes for my grandchildren. They love getting them. This last Christmas, they picked out the flannel for their pajamas. I took my oldest granddaughter to Joann’s to pick out some fleece for a coat for her and a pattern.

 

jacket

They didn’t have the pattern in stock that she wanted, so I modified the Mc Calls 4961 pattern. She wanted the collar and pockets to be pointed not rounded. Easy fix. The sleeves are going to have cuffs or a cuff look to them. This has been a fun project. Hope to have finished by next week, so she can use it this Winter. 😎

 

2 thoughts on “Knitting And Sewing Up Something Good: WIP Wednesday

  1. They both look lovely.

    Yesterday, during my daughter’s choir rehearsal, I showed an eight-year old girl how to knit. She already knows how to crochet. She was a bit hesitant to pick up my Hiya Hiya Sharp knitting needles, but after she knit a few stitches on my blanket she wanted to continue.

    I love that fleece, it’ll make a lovely jacket.

    Like

Leave a Reply

