Teaching the Young

curls -Teaching my young granddaughters new things.

My granddaughter Taylor stayed over 2 nights at Christmas time. She brought one of dolls. It was a great time for her to learn how to sew.

tayWe chose a fleece scrap that I had. Next I showed her how to pin and cut out the pattern. Then we went to the sewing machine. She had just the two shoulder seams to make. What a smile Taylor has here with her doll, Emily. Emily and here new poncho. Later Taylor cut fringe all around the bottom. Fleece is great for learning.

 This last week, my husband and I stayed at our son’s house and watch three of our grandchildren. I had big ideas to teach Baylei how to sew and crochet. Since I was sick most of the week, I didn’t get the sewing done.

bayBaylei started out crocheting in a circle. It turned out to be a small hat for her barbie doll. Next I had her do a row and turn.  She did this for a whole evening. The next day I started a pink hat for her. I made the top and she did in the round for the sides. First she wanted the hat to be the pink Angry Bird, but decided just a plan pink hat with braids. The hat is a WIP for my granddaughter. It feels good knowing your granddaughters want to learn. 🙂

6 thoughts on “Teaching the Young

  1. You’re an awesome grandmom and your grandchildren are doing well with their sewing and crochet skills.

    It’s always nice to pass on your crafting skills to others. My daughter loves sewing and crochet. She told me she’s almost at the point where she wants to knit. Later today we’re sewing, she’s making items for her dolls and I’ll be making an outfit for myself and one for her.

    Like

  2. It is fun to teach our children & g’children how to do the crafts we love so much. I remember teaching my daughter how to knit & sew, & some crocheting. I still remember teaching her how to wash clothes when she was about 10. My g’sons had a fun day crocheting coasters for me one weekend. & of course, all want to know how to Machine Knit on the knitting machine!! Sheryl

    Like

    • Thanks. I taught both my boys cross stitching. They did a Garfield cross stitch that I still have. All my grandsons do beading when they are over, even the 3 year old. They seem to like it. I think coasters are a great idea for my grandsons. My 9 year old granddaughter made purse on the knitting machine when she was 6 years old. I hope to teach them more on the machine. Curls

      Like

Leave a Reply

