It’s Official, Q’s a Process Knitter

q – I love all of the bloggers I follow. When I’m not feeling well, they cheer me up. When I already have WAY too many WIP’s, I can count on them to post simply wonderful new patterns which I cannot resist. My hands start itching when they share the latest yarn or fiber that they are using.  Neither Curls nor I are eloquent writers, as a scientist I’m great at scientific writing: short, concise and to-the-point. There are times when I read a blog and the writer pinpoints exactly what I want to say. I’ve blogged about my overload of WIPs in the past and even listed SOME on the blog. I’ve admitted that I have KADD (Knitter’s Attention Deficit Disorder). Curl’s called it QADD (Q’s Attention Deficit Disorder). On March 15, Anastasia owner of For The Knit Of It blogged: What Knitting is to Me and Too Many WIPs! This is me!

That’s right. I’m admitting it. I have way too many WIPs going on.

I think I’ve firmly established myself as a Process Knitter. For those of you who don’t know what that is (no secret, I’m a Knit Picks podcast-aholic), it’s process vs product knitter. The process knitter loves the making of projects. Product knitters knit for the end result, the beautiful knit. Neither one is better than the other! It’s just a personality thing.
That’s right. I’m admitting it. I have way too many WIPs going on.

That explains why I need to have so many projects. I seldom wear the things I make. More often, I find someone to give them to. Yet, I love casting on new projects. I love having so much going on. Each project fits my mood. Some are for other people so have deadlines. Some I cast-on something just to work on in a movie theater or in the car. Some I start because I just because. I love it!

And I love that moment when I step back and see what I’ve made. As I knit, all I see are stitches. I don’t see a sweater or mittens or socks or a cowl. I see one stitch at a time.

Anastasia
For The Knit Of It

Curl’s is a product knitter. I admit it, I’ve never finished a sweater. Gasp! I get bored; been there, done that, now on to the next project. So thanks Anastasia! Now I don’t need to feel so darn guilty about all of my WIP’s.

Let’s see how I’ve done with the WIP’s mentioned in my January 2, 2013 post:

  • Tidal Wave Socks – by Deby Lake
  • Litla Dimun Shawl – in Folk Shawls
  • 2012 Mystery Shawl KAL
  • Mystery Shawl
  • Brioche Scarf – in Knitting Brioche
  • Lavender Linen Lace Shawl
  • Self-fringing Shawl
  • Directional Scarf
  • Volna Scarf – by Grumperina
  • Victorian Shawlette
  • Kimono by Plymouth Yarns
  • Concerto – triangular ruffle shawl by Sheera
  • Heart to Heart Beaded Scarf – by Sivia Harding
  • Amanda’s Vest for Scarf Knitters – by Amanda’s Art-Yarn
  • Flower Blanket – black and white handout, no author listed
  • Knotty Scarflet – Sivia Harding
  • Lazy Girl Shawl – Melissa Mitchel
  • Kaellingesjal 1897 – Hap shawl by Mette Roerbec
  • Norwegian Star – finish second sock
  • Winona – shrug by Berroco

What’s that you say? None of them finished? I have finished:

  • a pair and 1/2 of socks – I really HATE the feel, texture, yarn on Feb’s Sock-It-To-Me sock and have just finished one.
  • 2 hats

Other new WIP’s

  • 3/4 of a girl’s vest – really am close to being done, but after visiting my granddaughter I’m not sure she would wear it. So, now it’s in limbo.
  • A Watch Cap for Mike
5 thoughts on “It’s Official, Q’s a Process Knitter

    • Q – Problem is, if it’s a larger project I get bored! LOL! BTW – I had to join that shawl KAL you’re doing, can’t remember the name, the blue hued yarn, could not resist! Haven’t cast on yet, dyed yarn though.

      Like

  1. Wow that was unusual. I just wrote an incredibly long comment but after
    I clicked submit my comment didn’t appear. Grrrr… well I’m not writing
    all that over again. Anyhow, just wanted to say wonderful blog!

    Like

Leave a Reply

