4KCBWDAY2 A Mascot Project

eskimimi makes4KCBWDAY2 A Mascot Project.

Your task today is to either think of or research a project that embodies that house/animal. It could be a knitting or crochet pattern – either of the animal itself or something that makes you think of the qualities of that house. Alternatively it could be a type or colour of yarn, or a single button. Whatever you choose, decide upon a project and blog about how and why it relates to your house/creature.

This past year Curls and I have chosen joint projects which focus on learning new knitting stitches, techniques, and objects. A few of the examples: a brioche stitch scarf, a linen stitch scarf, Norwegian Star twined knitting, using short rows in a scarf and a shawl, lace knitting (new to Curls), directional knitting (new to Q), socks, and a different technique for adding beads to a knitted item. We like a challenge, try something new, learn something new. Each project helps us hone our skills as knitters. My latest new stitch is a 3-in-3 used in the Capriole Shawl. Luckily, Rachel of Remily Knits has posted a video of how to knit this stitch on her blog. In all of my lace knitting, I haven’t run into this stitch before.

Where is all of this rambling leading you ask? We haven’t knit stuffed animals, or amigurumi, toys. A search on Ravelry  is in order. With a new grandson on the way, we found out the sex on April 15, a knitted, stuffed, monkey is just the ticket. I already call my grandson Mason “Monkey” since he is such a character. He might need one too. I’m thinking of looking for a smaller monkey. Mason informed me during the visit that it’s funny how babys are little but play with big-sized toys and boys are big but play with small sized toys. So, I’ll need a big monkey for the baby and a small monkey for Mason.  At 8, he is already quite an artist and drew some Domo characters for me to sew into stuffed toys. Ok, so back to the monkey. I’m looking for knitting patterns, after crocheting the Angry Bird hats, I’ve found that crocheting hurts my hands.

Results:

Monkey Jacobus by Annita Wilschut

Monkey Jacobus by Annita Wilschut

Monkey Around Scok Monkey #159 by Patons (free)

Monkey Around Scok Monkey #159 by Patons (free)

ITV Digital Mondky by Sirdar Spinning Ltd (free)

ITV Digital Mondky by Sirdar Spinning Ltd (free)

Sock Monkey Miniature For Blythe by Monica Bovee (free)

Sock Monkey Miniature For Blythe by Monica Bovee (free)

Monkey Boot Topper by Chauntel Ensey

Monkey Boot Topper by Chauntel Ensey

Ok, so the boot toppers aren’t a stuffed monkey, but they are so adorable! Now time to decide. Decisions, decisions. I can’t wait to see what the other members of our Monkey House have chosen as mascots. Time to go monkey around with Curls today. It’s the first time we’ve met at The Office aka Starbucks since last summer. WOW!

Join the fun at Eskimimi Makes. No sign up necessary.

2 thoughts on “4KCBWDAY2 A Mascot Project

  1. congratulations on a new family member. it just so happens that I wrote a monkey pattern with my daughter. and I would love to send it to you if you like it. http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/mr-monk-a-sock-monkey-pocket-pal for free of course – just let me know if you want to try it. our monkey is easy to knit. the body is a rectangle shape–think scarf with short rows for shaping. because of the way you seam the body there is a pocket in the tummy. when I first started making toys for Children’s Hospital I wanted to include an extra treat with each one. And I remembered how my kids would collect all kinds of treasures and hid them in their pockets. so I came up with a pocket pal. I made larger ones and put a toy or notebook and crayons in the pockets. but then I decided to shrink the design, knit it in leftover sock yarn and add snaps to the hands and feet. suddenly I had garlands of monkeys swinging from lampshades and curtains. right now I am knitting o’possums and muskrats – instead of snaps I am knitting bobbles and loops of i cord to attach the hands and feet together. I like this much better. well I am getting too long winded here so I will cut myself off now. your knitting friend in wisconsin mary jo. ps I have been subscribed to your blog for a while now and love reading it in the morning. I like to see what you and your sister are up to ; )

    On Tue, Apr 23, 2013 at 9:54 AM, WordPress.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

