Curls And The Killdeer

q~Finally! A visit to Curls, she had a day off on Friday, well until 1:30 pm when they called and asked her to come in and help a new person with deliveries. Curls and husband Al live on a two acre lot up in the San Diego mountains and there are always a lot of critters visiting. When driving in the longish driveway to the house I passed some killdeers. When I mentioned this to Barb, she said two killdeers had set up nests on the ground in the front of the property. We drove past the nest which borders the driveway so I could get some shots. This is a perfect nesting site, look how well she blends in with the dirt. They don’t fly off if a car goes by, they do if it’s someone walking. Love what the killdeer is saying to me: 1. Are you looking at me? 2. You are looking at me. What do you want? 3. Get the heck out of here! Just leave a nesting mom alone.

Are you looking at me?

Are you looking at me?

You are looking at me. What do you want?

You are looking at me. What do you want?

 Get the heck out of here! Just leave a nesting mom alone.

Get the heck out of here! Just leave a nesting mom alone.

We left before she went into her wounded wing act, thus giving the bird the name “killdeer”. Figured she needed to stay on the eggs. I didn’t have my good camera with me so I used my iPhone.

2 thoughts on “Curls And The Killdeer

Leave a Reply

