Fiber Sandwich

q8~Yesterday was the last spinning class for the term. A tradition for the last day of class is to make a fiber sandwich. Super yum. Everyone who wants to participate brings in fiber from their stash that they are willing to contribute to the sandwich.What a delight to watch the sandwich grow as each member added a new contribution. What was interesting is the bottom layer was neutrals, then people came in and added colors, then back to neutrals, then colors, quite interesting. A wide variety of fibers were represented: dyed Lincoln locks, corriedale, merino, alpaca, shetland, blended tops, silk, etc. So very much fun.

Finished Sandwich

Finished Sandwich

Fiber Closeup

Fiber Closeup

This is my share. The stack was divided into 17 equal parts, so you get an idea of how much fiber was in the sandwich!

My Fiber

My Fiber

To spin this, I’ll just keep picking up samples and spin, blending would just change the total flavor of this fiber. I plan on Navajo plying the finished spun single so that the integrity of each fiber type stays together. Don’t worry, I’ll share the finished result. Queen Anne Lace Scarf pattern was used by Jane, one of the other students, to make a fabulous scarf from the fiber sandwich from last term. Absolutely beautiful, I forgot to take a picture of it. Although it is crochet, I’m thinking of using the pattern for my spun sandwich. Don’t get me wrong crocheters, I like crochet, but it really hurts my arthritic right hand.

13 thoughts on “Fiber Sandwich

  1. I had a chuckle since I thought your fiber sandwich post would be something about a yummy green fiber rich sandwich that you eat. Yes, I’m still craving dark leafy greens… and still eating them daily. However I love your lovely fiber sandwich!

    Like

    • Q – LOL!! The minute I read “I had a chuckle” I knew you were thinking the yummy green fibers. I hadn’t even thought of that until you comment. Great chuckle.

      Like

  2. is it wrong that i just want to snuggle in this fibre sandwich? Maybe elope, just a small ceremony in a (clean) garden some where, maybe after a couple of years adopt a sheep and live happily ever after?

    And maybe get some sleep and lay off the cough syrup whlist commenting on the interwebs

    Like

Leave a Reply

