Success! Navy’s Bay Bridge Run/Walk

q8~Ok, so I’m almost a month late in posting this. On May 19, 2013 the Navy held it’s annual Bay Bridge Run/Walk. This was it’s 27th year. The purpose of the walk:

This annual Navy-hosted event includes the public in raising money for the Navy’s Morale Welfare and Recreation (MWR) programs. MWR provides Quality of Life programs for our 500,000+ active duty and retired military, reservists, their family members and civilian employees who make up our San Diego Military Family. This unique 4-mile run/walk has a one of a kind spectacular panoramic view as participants make their way to Coronado’s beautiful Tidelands Park from downtown San Diego over the Coronado Bay Bridge. During the finish line celebration, runners receive an event T-shirt, Padres ticket and complimentary transportation back to downtown via bus and ferry.

The Hubs, daughter Em, s-i-l Steve, daughter Sarah’s best friend April, and I all did the walk and had an exhilarating time. It was nice that the day started out overcast. It usually stays that way the entire time, but not this year. Half way across and the sun came out. Have you ever know a slow walker? Slow them down again by half and that’s me. Even as a skinny kid, I was the world’s slowest walker. I like to walk but there are just so many interesting things to stop and look at or listen to. I’m always “dragging up the rear”. My family just walks ahead for a bit and then waits for me to catch up, repeat continually until the end.

I haven’t posted the pictures earlier because I didn’t feel like editing. It was hard to limit the number of pics, but I think I’ve got the gist.

See the bridge in the distance. Can you hear me whining?

See the bridge in the distance. Can you hear me whining?

Barrio Logan - Wonderful paintings on the bridge pillars.

Barrio Logan – Wonderful paintings on the bridge pillars.

 

Mariachi Band at Barrio Logan park to urge us onto the on-ramp. See it there? More whining.

Mariachi Band at Barrio Logan park to urge us onto the on-ramp. See it there? More whining.

I made it up the ramp! Hardest part of the walk.

I made it up the ramp! Hardest part of the walk.

San Diego skyline

San Diego skyline

View from center of bridge. Taken with Hubs new iPhone camera. Notice the great color.

View from center of bridge. Taken with Hubs new iPhone camera. Notice the great color.

Navy band greeting us at other side of bridge.

Navy band greeting us at other side of bridge.

Success! Only took 1 hour, 56 minutes, 30 seconds. LOL! Last time it was less, about 1 hour 45 minutes.

Success! Only took 1 hour, 56 minutes, 30 seconds. LOL! Last time it was less, about 1 hour 45 minutes.


Hope to see you on the bridge next May!

4 thoughts on “Success! Navy’s Bay Bridge Run/Walk

    • Q – Thank you! I just used my iPhone. Carrying my Camelbak for water is heavy enough. Forget my heavy DSLR Canon. Even though I would love some better quality photos. Lol

      Like

  1. Congrats on the race and how nice to have loved ones to share in on the activity. You seem to always have a smile on your face, I like that! 🙂 And you know I’m loving the red you’re wearing. I love bright colors!

    Like

Leave a Reply

