Ply Magazine

q8~Thanks to Tina of Peacefully Knitting who blogged about a new magazine: Ply. Immediately upon reading the blog, I went to the Ply website and subscribed to the magazine. Jillian Moreno, editor, says, “Ply is written for spinners who are beyond the starting point, and growing.” They call their level “Inspirational Intermediate.”

Ply Magazine Issue 1

Ply Magazine Issue 1

This is a wonderful magazine which really spoke to me. These are some of the ideas/thoughts that popped into my mind while devouring each page:

  1. What a nice quality magazine. The paper weight is wonderful, not that “thin-almost-tear” weight of most magazines. The cover is also a heavier weight. This is more journal quality than mass-produced magazine quality. Lovely.
  2. The font size made me laugh! I’ve never seen such a large size in a magazine or book unless purposely produced as an easy-to-read issue. The size must be 14 – 16. It makes it easy to read without my glasses. So I have questions: 1) Is the magazine aimed towards all of us older folks who have old eyes, or 2) Are they pulling the trick that my students would try – use a larger font to try and reach that “5-page” requirement for their English papers? In other words, did they need x number of pages and to reach that number they used a large font? This is NOT a complaint, since I can read the magazine without my reading glasses.
  3. We blogged about Women’s Work by Elizabeth Wayland Barber on November 14, 2012. The first article, Origin:Quest For The First Spinner by Christina Pappas reinforced the research in Women’s Work. I love etymology and both these sources opened my eyes to how the origin of words can be used as fiber research.
  4. I REALLY want a small, portable, spinning wheel to take to classes, spin-ins, workshops, etc. There was an ad for the Pocket Wheel, now I’m back on the search for the perfect small wheel. Any suggestions?
  5. Loved the article on Corriedale. It is one of the samples in my Woolgathering’s Sample Pack. This article gives good examples of samples made from spun yarn. Now I have a good direction for spinning my sample.
  6. The Irida Shawl is gorgeous, I had to order Woolgathering’s red-orange color way to spin and make the shawl.
  7. A big chuckle over the article Ergo Neo: New Ways To Work by Carson Demers. I went into detail about spinning ergonomics in our Spinning the Sandwich blog, June 12, 2013. I’m still suffering from tendonitis in my left elbow from my crazy spinning stupidity. In Ergo Neo, Carson does not give ergonomic advise, he says that will be covered in future issues.
  8. There is a discount for a subscription to Knit Edge. Have any of you read that magazine? Is it good?
  9. Hello Dolly by Shelly Dale says,  “…brought Dolly to life after 226 failed attempts”. What? Failed? Remember Good Advice, Thomas Edison, May 5, 2013? Each attempt was not a failure, it was a learning experience as to what wouldn’t work. The scientists used each attempt to tweak the hypothesis. Failure indeed! Sorry, this is a sticking point with me, you only fail if you give up! And to judge someone else’s work as a failure, harump!
  10. I am so into genetics! Genetics was one of my favorite courses in college. I’ve actually had my mtDNA done, which proves my genealogical research into my maternal line – we go back to Finland in the 1400’s. Anyway…. First Sheep a rough sketch by Deborah Robson gave a fascinating view into the research to determine what the “first sheep” were. Very interesting and well written. Wonderful graphics supporting the written material. Awesome!
  11. Tip Jar is tips from everyday spinners. This is a really good idea since there is such a diversity in spinners and ideas are always welcome. Picked up some good tips.
  12. fine young goat, a kid’s first clip by Dee Hadorn is a great article about the first clip of an angora goat. There is a lot of wonderful info about angora wool. Just in time since I purchased a pound of angora from a local breeder. Timely.
  13. I have handfuls of locks from different breeds of sheep. The article Spin It! by Jacey Boggs covers corespinning. Corespinning? Never heard of it. Our spinning teacher has not introduced this term to us. Will have to ask about it when classes start again in the Fall. Looks as if it will be the perfect solution for adding my locks to spinning.
  14. Summer 2103 Spin-off magazine had two articles The Spinning Wheel Sleuth interview with Florence Feldman-Wood, about her collection of early spinning wheels and The Transformation of the Spinning Industry by Peter Teal. These articles segue’d nicely into The First Spinning Wheel by Alden Amos.
  15. Michelle Boyd’s Don’t Get Fleeced! article is wonderful! This article supports what my spinning teacher has told us, but the article has wonderful pictures to support what’s good and what’s not. She even mentions the Listen-For-The-Ping, blogged about September 27, 2012, although she calls the sound a “pwoing”.  Buy the magazine for this article!
  16. Not only hadn’t I heard the term corespinning, Follow the Fiber by Shannon Herrick ups the bar by making “supecoiling corespun” yarns. WOW!

There were other articles and patterns. But, the ones mentioned spoke directly to me for one reason or another. Really an enjoyable magazine. My true confession – I usually am a “picture browser” through my knitting, spinning magazines. I actually read every article in this magazine. Is it because of the large font? Any spinner needs to get this magazine, it is worth the money.

4 thoughts on “Ply Magazine

  1. I just borrowed Spin Art by Jacey Boggs. It’s a very pretty book with very easily understood instructions on corespinning and other new ways to play with fiber. Maybe you should check it out – perhaps your library has it?

    Like

Leave a Reply

