The Dead Tree And Me

q8~We’re re-landscaping the backyard. It’s gone to rack-and-ruin due to the Hubs accident and the dog digging it up looking for the gopher. The one item I will get a little weepy over is my dead, dwarf peach tree. I love this tree! All of my bird feeders hang from the tree. At any given time I can see at least 4 different species of visitors since there aren’t any leaves to hid them. Yesterday, at one time, I saw House Finch, Lesser-Green-Backed Goldfinch, Anna’s Hummingbird, Mourning Dove, and California Towhee. The new tree to replace it is a Palo Verde which has tiny little leaves so, hopefully, I’ll be able to easily see my little feathered friends.  Here are some of the easy-to-see-birds on my tree. Dead tree? Really? These are just a tiny fraction, not even the tip of the iceberg, of the birds visiting my favorite tree. For some reason, I’ve “lost” some of my favorite pics.

Bushtit

Bushtit

Anna's and Bushtit- I was aiming for Bushtit when Anna got in the pic

Anna’s and Bushtit- I was aiming for Bushtit when Anna appeared

Gulf Fritillary

Gulf Fritillary

Anna's Hummingbird

Anna’s Hummingbird

Female Hooded Oriole - Summer Visitor

Female Hooded Oriole – Summer Visitor

Male House Finch

Male House Finch

House Finch feeding baby

House Finch feeding baby

California Towhee kept moving

California Towhee kept moving

Lesser Green-backed Goldfinch male

Lesser Green-backed Goldfinch male

Lovely shadows on fence

Lovely shadows on fence

All photos were taken with my Canon Rebel.

6 thoughts on “The Dead Tree And Me

  1. I feel your pain! We just lost the most beautiful weeping willow in our backyard. It was the talk of the neighborhood. – Both while it was alive and then after it died. All the homeowners around us felt our sorrow. I hope your new tree will bring you even more happiness and birds! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

