New Stitch Cowl

q8~Ever since Curls and I saw the Linen Stitch Scarf by Churchmouse, I’ve wanted to try the stitch. Finished Object Friday: Linen Scarf and Pretti-Cozy by Curls shows the wonderful scarf she made using the stitch. I have found the stitch does have other names. Anyway. When browsing yarns for my b-i-l’s Canadian Hat, I saw a scrumptiously colored yarn Boboli by Berroco knew it would be perfect for knitting a Linen-Stitch Cowl for my s-i-l. I did not want to make a long scarf, so I decided a cowl would fit the bill. This was the knitting project I brought to Montreal. When we were out and about driving in the beautiful country-side, I was assigned the job of navigator and missed a couple of turns because I was so busy knitting. Oops. I’m usually an awesome navigator and have a wonderful sense of direction, my reputation is now suffering.

Working on Linen Stitch Cowl

Working on Linen Stitch Cowl

Finished Linen Stitch Cowl

Finished Linen Stitch Cowl

B-i-l modeling hat and s-i-l modeling Linen Stitch Cowl

B-i-l modeling hat and s-i-l modeling Linen Stitch Cowl

Linen Stitch Cowl

Materials
US 8 circular – I used a 16 inch, this pattern is knit in the round. You could use double points if you like them better.
Yarn: Worsted weight, 200 yards
1 stitch marker

wyif = with yarn held in front

Cowl
Cast On: 120 stitches, I always use the Old Norwegian Cast on method which gives the edge a bit of a stretch.

Join the row, making sure not to twist stitches at join. Place marker before the first stitch.

Knit for three rows then start the pattern:

Repeat this pattern until cowl is 8″ wide:

Row 1: Knit

Row 2: *P1, sl1 wyif*

Row 3: Knit

Row 4: *Sl1 wyif, P1*

After the width is 8″ end with: Knit 3 rows and bind off.

For binding off I always use Jeny’s Surprisingly Stretch Bind-off.

Finishing: weave in ends.

This cowl could also be folded up and “pinned” giving a more “formal” look.

2 thoughts on “New Stitch Cowl

  1. Oh I love the colors in that cowl. What a coincidence, I finished knitting a hat and a cowl yesterday. I was on a road trip to, didn’t have to worry about navigating since the GPS did the work, so yeah! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

