Baa Baa White Sheep

Sheep Heid by Kate Davies

Sheep Heid by Kate Davies

Two super cute hats on display at Joseph’s Coat were knitted by the owner Janet. I inquired about the patterns and she informed me that the the hat pattern she used was Sheep Heid by Kate Davies (one of my favorite designers) but she replaced the sheep with different patterns. She replaced the sheep pattern on Kate’s hat with the sheep pattern from A Great British Knit by Ann Kingstone (as seen on vest below). The other hat was a knitting-themed hat and she used the ball of yarn with needles pattern from A Great British Knit by Ann Kingstone (as seen on vest below).

A Great British Knit by Ann Kingstone

A Great British Knit by Ann Kingstone

Very clever ideas. I don’t often think of substituting knit patterns when doing stranded color work, especially when one is on a vest and the other on a hat. I guess I don’t like to “fiddle” with changing the pattern and number of stitches. However, after seeing the substitutions on Janet’s hats, I need to rethink my knitting laziness! And please, I’m having a brain freeze, I cannot think of the proper name for this type of knitting, stranded color work is all I can think. What word/s am I looking for? Thank you Pia! – I was looking for Fair Isle!

4 thoughts on “Baa Baa White Sheep

Leave a Reply

