Fuzzy Phil

Image

It is with great sadness that I post about the passing away of our mother Phyllis, aka Fuzzy Phil, at age 92. She passed away peacefully in her sleep on March 14.  She had been missing my dad terribly and said she was ready to join him. I am happy for her since that was her wish, but sad for those of us she left here grieving her loss.  Services will be in April so that all five of us children and various grandkids have a chance to make travel arrangements for Missoula. It will also be near their anniversary which mom would like.

Those of you who follow the blog know that our dad taught us to always look for the silver lining. Mine is that I’m here in Hawaii with the grandkids who keep me so busy that my mind is occupied with other things. It’s when they do something cute and I think, “I need to tell mom,” that the sadness hits.

31 thoughts on “Fuzzy Phil

  1. So sorry to hear of your loss. Although we should also grieve the loss, I always say too that these such gatherings are for the celebration of the life lived, and not the loss. Prayers and strength for you and your family.

    Like

  2. Please accept my sincere condolences! I have been in your shoes, I know exactly how you feel right now! God Bless! Helga Stintzcum

    Like

    • Q – Thank you! She did pick a good Dad. 😎 One of her saying to us was, “The answer is always “NO” if you don’t try.” Made us kids feel as if we could do anything we tried. I passed that on to my kids and my students.

      Like

  3. So sorry for the loss of your mom. The “I need to tell mom” is a hard one that I struggle with but I also think of all the things I did tell her that made us both feel so connected. I love your picture…

    Like

  4. Oh I’m sorry to hear about your loss. I do remember she occasionally posted on your blog and I enjoyed reading the various stories you’d tell about your parents on this site. You had some talented parents and it seems they passed that onto their children. I’ll keep you and your loved ones in my prayers. I’m happy that you have so many wonderful memories to hold on to, but it still hurts when our loved ones pass away.

    Like

Leave a Reply

