ISpy With My Little Eye

ISpy Quilt 1

ISpy Quilt 1

ISpy Quilt 2

ISpy Quilt 2

After years of being on a hiatus, I’ve finally ventured back into the world of quilting. Jumping in with both feet, I decided it was time to make ISpy Quilts for my two youngest grandsons ages 3 and 16 months. It was a blast collecting all of the different prints needed. Curls and I went through our fabric collections scouring for prints, and I ordered some 5″ square packets from vendors on Etsy and eBay. Each quilt took eighty 4″ squares. However, this blog is not about the quilts, I will cover those in another blog. This blog is about my new design board. I would have found this to be an overwhelming task if it were not for my new design board!

There is not an empty wall on which I can place a design board in my Sewing Studio. The perfect solution for me is to place it over the closet curtains that way, when not in use, the board can be slid out of the way. I saw this design board on a blog I follow and fell in love with it. I ordered the design board from Fons and Porter when it was on sale. Think heavy-duty, plastic, cloth-lined, picnic table cloth and that’s what this is. On the plastic side there are grid lines to help line up the squares. There are heavy duty grommets on the top on which attachments can be used. I’ve always wanted a reason to use Ikea’s DIGNITET, curtain wire, it’s the perfect solution.

Curtain wire with curtain hook clips

Curtain wire with curtain hook clips

You can see how the RIKTIG, curtain hooks with clip, are clipped onto the design board grommets. I used pliers to “close” the round part of the hook that the wire went through since this board gets pushed out of the way when not in use. The first time I pushed it, I hadn’t closed the round part and the wall came tumbling down. LOL!

Attachement

Attachement

My sweet husband installed the hardware for me. He determined the height of the design wall by having me reach up to my highest point. He placed it up a couple of inches up from that so the grommets were above my reach. The DIGNITET can be adjusted so it goes in a straight line. With the line tightened up and the extra wire cut, I have the perfect solution for a design wall. BTW, you can get a glimpse of the wall hanging my grandma made when she was in her 80’s.

Extra Hooks

Extra Hooks

Update to the design board is that yesterday I added extra hooks between each of the grommet pairs. I found that I wanted to hang up each row of the quilt as I finished it. Serves two purposes: 1. The row is safely out of the way and not taking up space on a horizontal surface and 2. I get to admire my work.

This quilt is my very first try at Quilt As You Go. I’ll leave that wonderful experience for another time. Until then…..

QHave a brilliant, creative day.

6 thoughts on “ISpy With My Little Eye

  1. I really love your fabric, it’s so cute!

    Hey, this is perfect timing my advanced post tomorrow is about some delightful fabric that I want to use for a quilt. Finding it, reasonably, priced might be difficult. I’m slowly getting back into quilting. I finished cutting out blocks for a patchwork pillow and then I’ll move on to a quilt. Both of my Shape Cut rulers arrived today, so I’m giving them a workout. I ordered the Shape Cut Pro and the Shape Cut Ruler 16 X 16.5.

    Like

    • Q – Can’t wait to see the post! 😎 I’m slowly getting back into quilting too and cannot believe how much it’s changed in the 10 years or so I’ve been on “hiatus”. lol!

      Like

Leave a Reply

