There’s Nothing Like A Cowl

Curls modeling her new hat and cowl

Curls modeling her new hat and cowl

Curls delivers mail up in the cold mountains east of San Diego. Quit laughing all of you in snow country, 20 degrees Fahrenheit is cold for us. To keep my precious sister warm, I knit both a hat and a cowl. Both the hat and the cowl were knit in Silk Garden by Noro, quite a love yarn with which to knit. The hat is one of our favorite patterns which Curls “found” on our Northwest trip a couple of year ago, Urchin by Ysolda Teague. The cowl was knit using my favorite pattern State Street Cowl by Pam Allen. I LOVE cowls since they don’t have any hanging ends for me to slop through my food when eating out.

Urchin and State Street Cowl

Urchin and State Street Cowl

I’ve mentioned my “love affair” with Pinterest before. One pin lead me to the wonderful FitzBirch Crafts blog and its plethora of free patterns; cowls, socks, scarves, doorstop, etc. Here are just a few of their cowl patterns that I totally love:

Pictures16

Trellis Vine Cowl

Recently Updated67

Bunker Bay Cowl

Recently Updated72

Catch My Eye Cowl

 

Chevron Delight Infinity Scarf

Chevron Delight Infinity Scarf

As a process knitter, I love the process of knitting, trying new patterns and techniques, but usually give the items I’ve knit away since I’m not really making them for myself. My favorite person to knit for is Curls since she can actually wear the winter woolens.
QNow get your crafty self up and make something for some one. Have fun!

4 thoughts on “There’s Nothing Like A Cowl

  1. I love the colors and the design. I’m with you on cowls, the reasons you gave made me chuckle since I agree. The cowls and scarves look soft, fuzzy and warm. They remind me of my dreadlocks! 🙂

    I’ve seen some inspiring things on Pintrest and Revelry, although I admit I have not been on either in some time. I’m a process crafter also. I enjoy the process and have no problem frogging if I’m not satisfied. I also like making things just right. If it doesn’t well then I start again.

    Like

Leave a Reply

