Put A Stop To It

Door Protector

Senor Frog Door Protector

Although we are the original home owners of our house, I’m sure a ghost lives in my studio since the door will slam shut unexpectedly. After years of using a red brick to keep the door propped open, I decided it was time to class it up a bit. You can see on the door how the brick scrapped the paint. Welcome Señor Frog Door Protector, not stopper because he’s protecting the door from the ghost slamming. LOL!

Instructions to make your own protector:

Materials:

  • Red Brick
  • Scrap of batting
  • Scrap of fabric
  • Hot glue gun
  • Wooden tongue depressor
  • Scissors

1. Start with the red brick:

Red Brick

Red Brick

2. Cut the batting: 1.  To fold over the top of the brick and meet in the middle without overlapping, 2. Cut the batting ends to overlap the brick on each end for about 1/4″,  3. Cut two pieces for each brick end.

Brick and batting

Brick and batting

3. Using the hot glue, run a few lines down the length of the brick on one side. Using a tongue depressor for safety, press down the batting into the glue. Repeat this step on the other side.

Hot Gluing

Hot Gluing

4. Glue the end batting onto each end of the brick.

Batting glued onto end

Batting glued onto end

5. Using a scrap piece of upholstery material, cut the fabric the way you would wrapping paper. Enough to cover the top and fold up the ends. Hot glue both ends, then fold the sides as you to wrapping paper and glue into place.

Cut fabric

Cut fabric

6. I have a wooden floor in my studio, so I added a piece of felt for the bottom so it would slide easily and not mark the floor. There is a shoe hanger filled with items behind the door which I am constantly using.

Glue felt to bottom

Glue felt to bottom

 

7. Hot glue a stuffed animal or other decoration. This frog was given to me when I was teaching. He’s a perfect protector on the brick. And voila! A door protector in less that 5 minutes. This blog took a heck of a lot longer to write.

Hola Señor Frog

Hola Señor Frog

QHave fun on your crafty holiday.

2 thoughts on “Put A Stop To It

  1. All that frog needs is a colorful lily pad and he’ll stay there forever. That is nicely done and so creative. 🙂

    Yesterday, I watched as my daughter made a pillow. Later today, I’m showing her how to make pajamas from already made pajamas. It should be fun! Saturday, I purchased fabric for her growing fabric stash. She was beyond exited. She’s the only one in her sixth grade class that does anything crafty. Her friends think of me as the “crafty mom” since I usually make thing, for the entire class, on major holidays.

    Like

    • Q – LOL! Thank you. The brick was “eating” the paint on the door so I had to do something. Not to mention I’m tired of stubbing my toes!

      Because of both our mom and grandma, we were the crafty ones too. Mom mom did teach my best-friend how to sew. When we were in elementary school, she took us to the fabric store to pick out our fabrics to make gathered skirts – the rage in the 50’s! Mom taught us how to make a pattern from our favorite nightgowns, pjs, shirts, dresses, etc. I still have one of the “newspaper patterns”. LOL! I’m glad you’re teaching your daughter that wonderful skill.

      Like

Leave a Reply

