Painting With Bubbles

Bubble Painting

MG’s Bubble Painting

Isn’t it fabulous when the younger generation teaches us a new “painting” technique. My favorite granddaughter MG, 11 years old, loves to craft. BTW when I tell her she’s my favorite granddaughter she quickly points out that she’s my only granddaughter. She is totally in love with my new “craft room” and is always doing something crafty when she visits. This last visit, we went to the Dollar Store so she could pick out craft supplies. One idea she had was to add watercolor to bubbles and then blow the bubbles on paper to “paint”. So bubbles went into the cart. The above picture was her finished product.

Materials:

  • Bubbles with wand
  • Small plastic containers – one for each color
  • Selection of watercolor tubes
  • Paper for “canvas”

Steps to product a great bubble picture:

Add some bubbles

Add some bubbles

1. Add a small amount of bubble solution into a container.

 

add color (1 of 1)

Add watercolor

2. Add a small drop of watercolor to the bubbles.

stir (1 of 1)

Gently stir

3. Gently stir the paint into the bubbles with a popsicle stick. If you stir too vigorously then bubbles will form making it hard to use the wand.

blow bubbles (1 of 1)

Gently blow bubbles

4. Gently blow the bubbles onto the paper.

journal (1 of 1)

Wreck This Journal background

Of course, I had to try out MG’s painting technique. I used it for the background on the Collect The Stamps Off Of All Your Mail page in my Wreck This Journal. I used two different blues, 1 green, and 1 orange and totally love the effect. My glasses were so splattered with bubbles that I had to laugh.

easel (1 of 1)

Best easel ever

This is the best easel! Ikea sells it as a “laptop support” under the name BRÄDA. For $3.99 it’s a steal! A few years ago I purchased two, one for Curls and one for me. It’s thin enough that the clips work perfectly for holding paper in place.

QThanks for visiting us. Now go have a crafty day.

2 thoughts on “Painting With Bubbles

    • Q – I was thinking of you when I wrote this post since I know you like to do art journals and “creative paint things”. LOL! You’ll have to show me the results if you try it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

