Short DPN Fix

Fix for short DPN

Fix for short DPN

On our farewell visit to Hawaii last November, the youngest LL decided that the QR hat I made for Mason, his brother, belonged to him.  Solution: make a hat for LL. My daughter said it had to be the same size as Mason’s hat, his little three-year old head loved the ten-year old hat size. Luckily, I blogged about Mason in QR Code on Oct 12, 2012 and had included the pattern on the tutorial. One drawback, they lived on the windward side of Oahu and the only “cheap” source of yarn and needles was at Ben Franklin. Unfortunately, the selection of acrylics was negligible, so I had to settle for Red Heart. A three year old’s hat must be easily cleaned. Since all of my good needles were back home and I certainly did not need more DPNs I bought a set of Boyle. The DPNs were too short for all of the stitches which needed to be on each needle. I found this out after the stitches kept falling off. My solution? I used some of my granddaughter’s hair bands to hold the stitches on the needles. I would knit a side, put the hair band on, take the hair band off of the next side, etc. It took longer this way, but after learning the hard way that the stitches would fall off, this was a perfect solution. Also notice, for those of us with arthritis who have a harder time moving stitch markers I like to use a charm clipped to the start side so I know when I’m back at the beginning. I found a free QR code generator online and after graphing the QR code for LL’s name I began knitting. Very quick knit.

QR Hat

LL and QR Hat

Of course, as a typical 3 year old, LL was not about to put the hat on properly. He liked it sticking up on his head with his ears showing. Loves the hat. It was 80 degrees yesterday at the park, but he did not want to take the hat off after the “photo session”.

Mason's QR code hat

Mason’s QR code hat

2 thoughts on “Short DPN Fix

    • Q – Thanks! Um, I have to admit that my laziness has not lent itself to knitting anything that needs to be hemmed, sleeves set in, etc. I’m breaking out in a cold sweat just thinking about it! I did do a funny type of fold up and knit once on a hat. Small enough for me to do. LOL!!! Curls is the sweater knitter, hemmer, etc.

      Like

Leave a Reply

